Brief History

The history of Physics Department dates back to 1964 when physics was first introduced as a subject at the pre-University and subsequently, in 1967, at the Pre-professional course. Degree Course in Physics pass was introduced in this College in 1971 and then Honours course started in 1974. It has set several milestones to its credit and produced outstanding scholars who have achieved distinction in their career as physicists, scientists and administrator from different centers of excellence . Our department is one of the largest departments in the College with eleven faculty members , five supportive technical staff and four lab. attendant catering to the need of more than 700 degree students with physics as their subject of study. The department library has a good collection of B.Sc. Hons. level text books and standard reference books numbering about 600. The under graduate Degree Honours students take active part in the departmental seminar activities and physics projects as their course-work. Annual science exhibitions related to physics are organized among students on behalf of this department to develop their scientific skill. Apart from this, they also take part in all the departmental activities like diff. orientation programmes ,study tour ,quiz, debate etc organized by the department. Besides this, eminent faculties of other institute, distinguished scientists and research workers from other institute are invited to deliver talks on various current topics from time to time. Publication of a science wall magazine named “SPECTRUM” forms a part of the Departmental activities. Above all we form a cohesive group with a true team spirit that guides and guarantees the unity and mutual understanding between the teachers and the students.

  • Programme offered :- UG PHYSICS(Pass &Hons.)
  • Inter disciplinary courses :-Math.,Chemistry,Electronics,Comp.Sc.,
  • Intake Capacity(Students) :- 58


Click here to download PHYSICS Hons (CBCS) syllabus

Faculty profile(including teaching, non-teaching & technical staff)

Name Qualification Designation Specialization
Mrs. Sabitri Acharya M.Sc. Reader & HOD Electronics
Dr(Mr.) Umasankar Mohapatra M.Sc.,M.Phil, Ph.D. Reader Electronics
Dr. (Mrs.) Mridula Mishra M.Sc. M. Phil Ph.D. Reader Nuclear Physics
Mr. Pramod Ku. Samal M.Sc. M. Phil Lecturer Electronics
Dr. Pradeepta Ku. Mohapatra M.Sc. M.Phil Ph.D. Lecturer Particle Physics
Mr. Gadadhar Sahoo M.Sc. Lecturer X-Ray
Mr. Upendera Ku. Barik M.Sc. Lecturer X-Ray
Mr. Sibaprasad Padhi M.Sc. Lecturer Electronics
Mr. Gyanendra Satapathy M.Sc. Lecturer Spectroscopy
Mr. D. Dwibedee M.Sc. M.Phil Lecturer Particle Physics
Mr. Subodha Ku. Jagadev M.Sc. Lecturer Particle Physics

Remarkable achievements

  1. Best Graduate & Gold Medal Award-2014
  2. Best Graduate &Gold Medal Award -2015


Name Qualification/Position