Brief History

Prananath college (Autonomous) was established in the year 1959. The scope of teaching in science initially limited to P. U. Scienec which was started in the year 1964. Degree college of science was started from the year 1971. Mr. Dibakar Pattanaik was the first HOD of the department. Honours course in chemistry was opened in the year 1974 with 16 seats. At present, the no. of Hohours seat is 56.
• Year of Establishment of the department of Pre-University Chemistry, 1964
• Degree Chemistry( Pass), 1971
• Degree Chemistry ( Honours) , 1974.


Click here to download CHEMISTRY Hons (CBCS) syllabus

Faculty profile
(including teaching, non-teaching & technical staff)

Sl. No. Name Qualification Designation
1. Dr. Ajanta Satapathy M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. Associate Prof. & Head
2. Mrs. Kshyanaprava Pattanaik M.Sc. Reader ( S.S.)
3. Mrs. Manju Pattanaik M.Sc., M.Phil. Reader ( S.S.)
4. Dr. Pronab Kishore Mohanty M.Sc., Ph.D. Reader ( S.S.)
5. Mr. Priyabrata Mohanty M.Sc., M.Phil. Reader ( S.S.)
6. Dr. Purna Chandra Baisakh M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D Lecturer (Grade A)
7. Mrs. Shantilata Dash M.Sc. Lecturer ( Grade A)
8. Mr. Susanta Kumar Mishra M.Sc., B.Ed. Lecturer
9. Mr. Sailendra Prasad Mishra M.Sc. Lecturer
10. Mrs. Sipra Mohanty M.Sc. Demonstrator
11. Mrs. Dolly Mishra M.Sc., B.Ed. Demonstrator
12. Mr. Jagannath Sahoo B.Sc., PGDCA Demonstrator
13. Mr. Gadadhar Rath M.Sc., M.Phil., PGDCA Demonstrator
14. Ms. Anuradha Bidhar M.Sc., B.Ed., PGDCA Lab. Assistant

Remarkable achievements

6 international publication

Mr. Priyabarata Mohanty awarded 2nd position in poster competition on national science day at KIIT university

Mr. Badal Behera got admitted inti IIT Mumbai through IIT Jam in 2016


A Seminar on the eve of 150 years of Periodic Table was organised by Department of chemistry on 07/12/2019 in Maitri Bhaban in the topic Development and significance of Periodic Table addresed by Professor (Dr.) Sudhakar Agarkar, Dean, VPM Academy, Thane, Maharashtra.


The almuni meet of chemistry department was held on 23rd December 2018 in college premises Dr Dibakara Patnaik ex-Principal was felicitated.

Name Qualification/Position
Comd. Lalit Agrawall Deputy Director General, NCC
Debasmita Dash Senior Research Fellow, IGCAR, Kalpakam
Manoj Mohapatra Scientific Officer, DAE, Trombay, Mumbai
Ajit Parida Manager, HR, Poerbit corporation of India
Indu rekha Paschima Kabat District Emergency Officer, Nayagarh
Dr. Ajay Behera, Assistant professor P G Department of Chemistry, utkal University, VaniVihar
Bijay Ku. Swain Associate professor and HOD of Nayagarh College