Brief History

The department of Political Science formally came into existence in 1961-62, Honours course in Political Science was introduced in 1970. The Political Science department of Prananath College has churned out many notable alumni. Presently, the sanctioned strength in Pol. Sc.-Hons. is 56. The current faculty strength is 5. The teaching staff comprises 3 Readers (Associate Prof.) and 2 Lecturers (Assistant Prof.). It had a glorious past with its students reaching new heights in various fields, showing their excellence and grit in life. The teachers who have contributed to this development of this deptt need special mention, praise and appreciation.

  • Programme offered :- B.A. (Political Science Hons.)
  • Inter disciplinary courses :- Economics, History, Philosophy, Sociology
  • Intake Capacity(Students) :- 64
Click here to download POLITICAL SCIENCE Hons (CBCS) syllabus

Faculty profile(including teaching, non-teaching & technical staff)

Name Qualification Designation Specialization
Mr. H.K.Satapathy M.A. Associate Professor Indian Govt. & Politics, International Relation
Dr. (Mrs.) B.Mangaraj M.A., M.Phil, Ph.D. Associate Professor International Law
Dr. Pratip Ku. Mishra M.A., M.Phil, Ph.D. Associate Professor International Law/Relation, Bureaucracy & Leadership
Dr. (Mrs.) B. Mishra M.A., M.Phil, Ph.D. Associate Professor International Law & Organisation
Mrs. N. Das M.A., M.Phil Associate Professor Pol. Sociology, International Affairs

Remarkable achievements

  1. Dr. Pratip Kumar Mishra - Chairman & Co-chairman in National Seminars at Utkal University, P.G. Deptt. of Political Science, Patamundai College, Hinjilikat College.
  2. Dr. Biswa Mohini Mangaraj has visited the United Nations Headquarters at New Yerk, USA.
  3. Workshop on Higher Education in Indian at Cross Roads, IIPA, Odisha Branch.
  4. Resource Person to State Institute of Rural Development, Bhubaneswar, Indian Institute of Mass Communication, Dhenkanal, Biju Patnaik State Police Academy, Bhubaneswar, Gopabandhu Academy of Administration, Bhubaneswar.
  5. Faculty members have participated in various National Conferences, Seminars, Regional & State level seminars.
  6. Members of the Department have articles in edited and referred books.& Journals.
  7. Dr. Pratip Kumar Mishra has Supervison/Guidance of 10 Scholars in Utkal University and
    Utkal University of Culture.
  8. Two CPE Projects on Food Security (Dr. P.K.Mishra) & Self Help Group (Mrs. N.Das).


Name Qualification/Position
Pralaya Kanungo Faculty, Jawaharlal University, New Delhi
Subas Gantayat Chief of Finance, L&T, Badodara
Pradeep Harichandan Team Leader, JNURM, H&UD Deptt., Govt. of Odisha.
Radhamadhab Mishra OTV
Prabhat Das Lecturer, Pol. Sc., Nirakarpur College
S.K. Islam Faculty, Law, Unversity Law College, BBSR
Sunitarani Pradhan Branch Head, Muthus Finance Company, Cuttack
Ms. Chinmayee Tripathy Topper, Pol. Sc. - 2013, Teacher, Raghunath Dev High School, Baghamari.
Prakash Bhuyan Marketing Executive at Jagatpur, Cuttack
Suvendu Ku. Mohanty Program Officer, Jana Siksha Sanstha, Spons. by Min. of HRD, Govt. of India.