Brief History

The department of Odia formally came into existence in 1959. Presently the sanctioned strength in Odia Hons is 48. The current faculty strength is 8. A good number of them are holding Ph.D degrees . Members of faculty are encouraged to participate in State/National/International level seminars/ workshops.

  • Programme offered :- B.A. (Odia Hons.)
  • Inter disciplinary courses :- Generic electives, MIL (Odia), AECC
  • Intake Capacity(Students) :- 48


Click here to download ODIA Hons (CBCS) syllabus

Faculty profile(including teaching, non-teaching & technical staff)

Name Qualification Designation Specialization
Dr. Urmila Sundari Devi M.A., Ph.D Reader Translation English to Odia
Mrs. Swayam Prava Pattanaik M.A. Reader Religion
Mrs. Rateswari Swain M.A. Reader Religion
Dr. Madan Mohan Mahala M.A., Ph.D Reader Translation
Dr. Madan Mohan Behera M.A., Ph.D Reader Religion
Mrs. Minakshi Mohapatra M.A., M.Phil, B.Ed Lecturer Religion
Mr. Gopal Krushna Das M.A., M.Phil Lecturer Editing Modern Poetry
Mrs. Sunita Tripathy M.A., M.Phil Lecturer Modern Poetry

Remarkable achievements

  1. Two books were published by UGC grant under CPE scheme.
    a) Vendanta Sara Gupta geeta
    b) Banamali Rahasa and Twelve Nos. of book were published by Deptt.
  2. Student’s participation in state/National level seminar.
  3. Student’s participation in internal seminar.
  4. Project work
  5. The department has seuccessfully conducted Kavita Patho Utsab.


Name Qualification/Position
Dr. Sanghamitra Mishra Retd. Prof. Utkal University
Dr. NIlamani Parida Kendrapara Auto College (Retd. Reader, Eminent Poet and critics.)
Dr. Satya Pattanaik Eminent poet, Former reader, BJB Auto College
Dr. Shashi Ratha Short story writer
Dr. L.N. Raysingh Retd. Reader, writer