Brief History

The Department of Commerce was established in the year 1970. Over a period of more than four & a half decades, the faculty has proved its excellence both in academics as well as in research activities. The department takes credit for being the largest department of the College with more than 2000 student’s strength. The track record of Performance of the students has been consistently excellent. Besides, the department is proud enough to have organized 20th & 34th All Odisha Commerce Conference in the year 1998 and 2014respectively and two numbers of UGC Sponsored National Seminars in the year 2013 & 2015 along with a large number of Seminars/Workshops/Symposia at the institutional level.

  • Programme offered :- B.Com. Hons.
  • Inter disciplinary courses :-Economics, History, Botany, Pol. Science, Comuter Science, English, Zoology
  • Add-on Courses :-AMFI, IRDA, NCFM Modules
  • Intake Capacity(Students) :- 384


Click here to download B.Com. Hons (CBCS) syllabus

Faculty profile(including teaching, non-teaching & technical staff)

Name Qualification Designation Specialization
Dr. K.D. Kayastha M.Com., M.Phil, Ph.D Reader & Head Accounting & Finance
Dr. B.Rath M.Com., M.Phil, Ph.D Reader Accounting & Finance
Dr. B.B. Sahoo M.Com., Ph.D Reader Accounting & Management
Dr. B.B. Behera M.Com., Ph.D Reader Management & Marketing
Dr. B.B. Padhiari M.Com., MBA, M.Phil, Ph.D Reader Accounting & Finance
Prof. M.R. Senapati M.Com.,M.Phil Reader Accounting & Finance
Dr. R.K. Mishra M.Com., M.Phil., LLB,Ph.D., Reader Accounting & Finance
Dr. S.K. Das M.Com., M.Phil,Ph.D. Lecturer Management & Marketing
Dr. S.K. Patnaik M.Com., M.Phil, Ph.D. Lecturer Accounting & Finance
Prof. M.K. Kar M.Com., M.Phil Lecturer Accounting & Finance
Prof. B.B. Acharya M.Com., M.Phil Lecturer Accounting & Finance

Remarkable achievements

  1. Faculties Chaired in Technical sessions of the National & International Conferences. Dr. B. Behera Chaired the technical session of an International Conference at Malaysia
  2. Three Members of the Faculty are awarded Ph.D. & some members of the Faculties have contributed their papers in National & International referred Journals.
  3. Some members of the Faculties are Authors of Text as well as referred Books.
  4. Dr. S.K. Pattnaik, was awarded Bharat Sikhya Ratna Award.
  5. Miss. Padmalaya Subudhi was the best graduate of the college (2013-14)


Name Qualification/Position
Sanjeev Kumar Rath DGM, NTPC
Sahadev Champati DGM, NTPC
Suresh Kumar Jhunjhunwala, FCA
Bipin Bihari Agarwalla FCA
Santosh Kumar Agarwalla FCA
Abhishek Mohapatra FCA
Giridhari Lal Sharma FCA
Sanjay Kumar Agarwalla FCA
Chitta Ranjan Behera FCA
Rabindra Kumar Mohapatra Sr. Manager (Co-ordination ) SAIL, Rourkela Steel Plant
Biranchi Narayan Maharana Sr. Manager, UBI, Kolkata
Dinabandhu Mohanty Manger, Law, SAIL, Rourkela Steel Plant